BOB ALVARADO, Chair FRAN INMAN, Vice Chair YVONNE B. BURKE LUCETTA DUNN JAMES C. GHIELMETTI CARL GUARDINO CHRISTINE KEHOE JAMES MADAFFER JOSEPH TAVAGLIONE

SENATOR JIM BEALL, Ex Officio ASSEMBLY MEMBER JIM FRAZIER, Ex Officio

SUSAN BRANSEN. Executive Director



CALIFORNIA TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1120 N STREET, MS-52 SACRAMENTO, CA 95814 P. O. BOX 942873 SACRAMENTO, CA 94273-0001 (916) 654-4245 FAX (916) 653-2134 http://www.catc.ca.gov

May 17, 2017

Dear California Congressional Member,

The California Transportation Commission (Commission), an independent public agency, is primarily responsible for the programming and allocating of transportation funds used in the construction of highway, intercity passenger rail, active transportation, aeronautics, and transit improvements through transparent in California. The Commission partners with the California Department of Transportation (Caltrans) in the delivery of much needed transportation infrastructure in California. As you may know, the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) has designated the 2017 California winter storms as disaster code CA 17-2. While only \$100 million nationwide is authorized by FHWA for Emergency Relief Programs, Caltrans' preliminary damage estimate for the State Highway System is approximately \$800 million, with an additional \$400 million for local roads.

It is for this reason that I am writing to express strong support for Caltrans' request for additional FHWA Emergency Relief Program funding in the federal fiscal year 2018 appropriation bill for Transportation, Housing and Urban Development, any other Supplemental Appropriations bill, or any federal infrastructure investment legislation Congress may consider to address the 2017 California winter storms.

For additional information on this request, please contact Susan Bransen Executive Director, California Transportation Commission at Susan.Bransen@dot.ca.gov or (916) 654-4245. Thank you again for your continued leadership on behalf of the State of California.

Sincerely,

BOB ALVARADO Chair

c: Commissioners, California Transportation Commission
Susan Bransen, Executive Director, California Transportation Commission
Brian P. Kelly, Secretary, California State Transportation Agency
Malcolm Dougherty, Director, California Department of Transportation